Wolkoff’s kind of music

Music has ancient human roots.  Our ancestors sang and danced as a part of their mating rituals, to celebrate their community, to prepare for and commemorate important events, and likely for other reasons.  It makes us experience a variety of emotions and triggers a range of thoughts and behaviours.

I love all kinds of music, but my ethnocultural and demographic history has set particular preferences.  I’m a pushover for Mozart, Bach and Brahms (Beethoven is too schmaltzy for me).  I have a soft spot for Rogers and Hammerstein musical numbers.  In the end, though, my musical home base is rock and roll and blues.

The first link is to an irresistibly joyful tune entitled “Sheena’s Back in Town” by the late Nick Curran and his wonderfully named band “The Lowlifes.”  The song marries rockabilly and blues, and Nick sounded a lot like Little Richard in places.  His guitar work made me cry.  The link is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5kqqI3IB3D0

 

Another tune guaranteed to warm you up (apologies to readers in warmer climes than my own) is “Keep Up Blues” by the Rolling Stones. This gem somehow didn’t make it onto the “Some Girls” album, which I regard as a sad mistake. If you can sit still through this tune, you may need an antidepressant. The link is http://www.last.fm/music/The+Rolling+Stones/_/Keep+Up+Blues
I hope you enjoy what I regard as real music!

About iwolkoff

Irvin Wolkoff is a psychiatrist and wine journalist who has been a wine enthusiast and collector since his university days.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wolkoff’s kind of music

  1. David Curtis says:

    Irvin:

    I am sorry to say that I am not crazy about your 2 music selections; may I suggest: So Blind by David Myles, and 18 With a Bullet by Pete Wingfield –
    I love your wine comments; I wish that they were in print format, and that the LCBO code # was also made available – sorry to be lazy.

    David Curtis
    Thunder Bay
    discovered you via CBQ (CBC) radio 1

Leave a Reply

